Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: desktop session settings

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    123

    desktop session settings

    as the compiz+lxde combination has a bug causing all tabs from all desktops to be allways visible, even when you disable it at the preferences I decided to try openbox just for fun.

    So installed some openbox packages like obconf and removed compiz. then I went to desktop session settings to replace
    Code:
    compiz --replace
    with
    Code:
    openbox --replace
    at the next bootup I was greated by a desktop without window manager. The only solution was to go to lxterminal and type "openbox --replace".
    Scratching my head trying to figure out what I did wrong I fired up desktop session settings. The problem turned out to be that knoppix resetted the openbox --replace line to it's default compiz --replace line.

    Why the hell is this hapening (to me) again, there were persistency problems in the past and that was solved by following this:
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/threads...highlight=lxde

    I am running the cd version of knoppix 6.4.3 (have yet to try it on the 6.4.4 usb)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    242
    Methinks perhaps you are trying to hard.

    Did the cheat code not work for you ?

    Code:
    knoppix desktop=openbox

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    123
    this gives me a beatiful gray background and no lxde stuff...

    Don't tell me it's one of those cheatcodes interferring.
    They've been proven very useful but the default behaviour should be that it doesn't reset to default or interfer if the cheatcode isn't called.

    is there another way?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    242
    Sorry dinosoep, I'm a bit dense sometimes.

    You said you wanted to try openbox and now you have. You get a very nice grey screen on which you right click to get a menu. Lots of otherwise undiscovered applications but not the ones you love and no desktop - openbox is a window manger, not a desktop manager.

    I realise now that what you meant was you wanted to try LXDE on openbox, the way it is meant to be, instead of on compiz.

    The thread you refer to says something about a bug in 6.4.3 that's fixed in 6.4.4. You're still running 6.4.3. You may not deserve much tea and sympathy.

    You should not need to uninstall compiz and I'd suggest that's a bad idea until you've actually got LXDE working on openbox.

    A window manager is not quite on a par with your ordinary app. I don't think KK created Knoppix by simply installing a compiz package or two and uninstalling a few openbox packages. You might need to understand what KK did to replace openbox with compiz in the first place before you can replace compiz with openbox.

    Luckily for you that may not be so hard. Have a look in /etc/X11/xsession.d/45knoppix.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    123
    thank you, I'm going to take a look.
    I have 6.4.4 and 6.4.3 but I'm still setting up some things on 6.4.4 to make it the way it's on 6.4.3.
    I use the 6.4.3 version to mess around with but I'm going to whipe it and install linux mint usb and see how that works out.
    glad to hear it's fixed in 6.4.4, I'm going to see if I can get it to work with openbox.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    123
    great, got it working
    thanks for showing me that configure script I knew nothing about

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    242
    So you going to post details somewhere so everyone (including utu) can try this ?

    The 'task bar panel showing all windows' bug fixed is it ?

    Tips:

    1) All meaningful configuration file are under /etc (somewhere) - there is usually no need to look anywhere else.
    2) knoppix appears in the names of most (all ?) scripts KK has added to Linux - there aren't that many others he's tinkered with
    3) KK tends to customise dynamically rather than statically - so his scripts alter other configuration files (and you tend to loose your static changes)

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    @ Forester

    /etc/X11/Xsession.d/45knoppix is a real 'find';
    an education in itself.

    Next time you chat with KK, why don't you suggest he add a
    touchpad/external mouse correcting section in 45knoppix somewhere?

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    An example of an error you can't get rid of.
    (this double post)
    Last edited by utu; 03-20-2011 at 03:02 PM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    123
    yes, the task bar show all windows is fixed
    Code:
    for LXDECONFIG in "$HOME/.config/lxsession/LXDE/config" "$HOME/.config/lxsession/LXDE/desktop.conf"; do
     [ -r "$LXDECONFIG" ] || continue
     # X2Go: Can't use compiz
     if [ -n "$X2GO_SESSION" ]; then
      if grep -q '^window_manager *= *compiz' "$LXDECONFIG" 2>/dev/null; then 
        sed -i -e 's|^window_manager *= *compiz.*|window_manager=openbox-lxde|g' "$LXDECONFIG"
      fi
     else
      if grep -q -v '^window_manager *= *compiz' "$LXDECONFIG" 2>/dev/null; then
       sed -i -e 's|^window_manager *=.*|window_manager=openbox --replace|g' "$LXDECONFIG"
      fi
     fi
    done
    I'm not sure if that
    window_manager=openbox --replace
    (it was originally compiz --replace)
    should actually be
    window_manager=openbox-lxde

    anyway, it works without any discovered flaws

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


HP ProLiant DL380 Gen9 8SFF Server - E5-2698 v3 - 32Cores - 128GB Ram - 1TB HDD picture

HP ProLiant DL380 Gen9 8SFF Server - E5-2698 v3 - 32Cores - 128GB Ram - 1TB HDD

$299.00



HP ProLiant DL380 Gen9 Server 1x Xeon E5-2620V3 2.40 GHz 16 GB RAM No OS No HDD picture

HP ProLiant DL380 Gen9 Server 1x Xeon E5-2620V3 2.40 GHz 16 GB RAM No OS No HDD

$114.95



Dell PowerEdge R710 2.5

Dell PowerEdge R710 2.5" 2U Server 2x X5670 2.93GHZ 12-Core 128gb 2x 1TB SAS

$214.99



Lenovo SR530 Server (Intel Xeon Silver 4110) (3x 800GB SSD) (NO OS) (48GB RAM) picture

Lenovo SR530 Server (Intel Xeon Silver 4110) (3x 800GB SSD) (NO OS) (48GB RAM)

$599.00



HP ProLiant DL380 G9 Server H240AR 2x Intel Xeon E5-2640 v4 2x800w NO RAM/HDD picture

HP ProLiant DL380 G9 Server H240AR 2x Intel Xeon E5-2640 v4 2x800w NO RAM/HDD

$79.00



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v2 2.2GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 1x 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v2 2.2GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 1x 480GB SSD

$144.99



HYVE ZEUS V1 1U BAREBONE SERVER W/ X9DRD-LF-TW008 2x HS 1x PSU NO RAM HDD RISER picture

HYVE ZEUS V1 1U BAREBONE SERVER W/ X9DRD-LF-TW008 2x HS 1x PSU NO RAM HDD RISER

$114.00



DELL POWEREDGE R730XD RACK SERVER E5-2643V3 picture

DELL POWEREDGE R730XD RACK SERVER E5-2643V3

$334.99



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System

$359.99



CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs picture

CTO Dell PowerEdge R630 Server, 2x Xeon E5-2620V4, 64GB- 512GB RAM, 480GB SSDs

$346.67