Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How can I know if IDE-SCSI is included in my distribution

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872

    How can I know if IDE-SCSI is included in my distribution

    "insmod ide-scsi" said module not found
    "locate ide-scsi" only find the ide-scsi.c/.h file but no .o anywhere.

    I tried to use my HP7200e(parallel port cdwriter) with cdrecord but the program cannot find the device. I can access the HP7200e as a read only CD-ROM by loading the "pcd" driver. In order to use it as a writer, it seems that I need to load the "pg" driver. But after loading the "pg" driver, "cdrecord -scanbus" doesn't see the device.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872
    Ok, solved my own problem. KNOPPIX doesn't have the necessary /dev/pg? created, I have to manually made it.

    Now that cdrecord can see the device, could someone tell me how to burn the downloaded ISO images ?

    #cdrecord speed=1 dev=1,0,0 /whatever.iso

    give me some warning like may not be able to fill the data etc. and talk about overburn. I wanted to burn it on a CD-RW rather than CD-R, would that make any difference ?

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by garyng
    Ok, solved my own problem. KNOPPIX doesn't have the necessary /dev/pg? created, I have to manually made it.

    Now that cdrecord can see the device, could someone tell me how to burn the downloaded ISO images ?

    #cdrecord speed=1 dev=1,0,0 /whatever.iso
    I cd to the directory my .iso is in then do a:

    root@cromag:/home/glenn# cdrecord -v speed=4 dev=0,0 KNOPPIX_V3.2-2003-03-30-EN.iso

    Of course you'll want dev=1,0 You only need to give the BUS & TARGET, LUN is optional.

    give me some warning like may not be able to fill the data etc. and talk about overburn. I wanted to burn it on a CD-RW rather than CD-R, would that make any difference ?
    The error about disk size can be caused when you use incorrect syntax & cd-rw should be OK.

    Here's what the ouput looked like:

    Cdrecord 2.01a05 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2002 Jörg Schilling
    TOC Type: 1 = CD-ROM
    scsidev: '0,0'
    scsibus: 0 target: 0 lun: 0
    Linux sg driver version: 3.1.24
    Using libscg version 'schily-0.7'
    atapi: 1
    Device type : Removable CD-ROM
    Version : 0
    Response Format: 1
    Vendor_info : 'SONY '
    Identifikation : 'CD-RW CRX100E '
    Revision : '2.0h'
    Device seems to be: Generic mmc CD-RW.
    Using generic SCSI-3/mmc CD-R driver (mmc_cdr).
    Driver flags : MMC SWABAUDIO
    Supported modes: TAO PACKET SAO
    Drive buf size : 1040128 = 1015 KB
    FIFO size : 4194304 = 4096 KB
    Track 01: data 699 MB
    Total size: 803 MB (79:38.6 = 358401 sectors
    Lout start: 804 MB (79:40/51) = 358401 sectors
    Current Secsize: 2048
    ATIP start of lead in: -11231 (97:32/19)
    ATIP start of lead out: 359847 (79:59/72)
    Disk type: Short strategy type (Phthalocyanine or similar)
    Manuf. index: 27
    Manufacturer: Prodisc Technology Inc.
    Blocks total: 359847 Blocks current: 359847 Blocks remaining: 1446
    Starting to write CD/DVD at speed 4 in real TAO mode for single session.
    Last chance to quit, starting real write 6 seconds.
    cdrecord: fifo had 64 puts and 0 gets.
    cdrecord: fifo was 0 times empty and 1 times full, min fill was 0%.

    Just hit CTRL+c if you want to cancel the burn.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933

    Re: How can I know if IDE-SCSI is included in my distributio

    Quote Originally Posted by garyng
    "insmod ide-scsi" said module not found
    "locate ide-scsi" only find the ide-scsi.c/.h file but no .o anywhere.
    insmod ide-scsi doesn't work because it is not a module - it's already compiled into the kernel. That's why you'll see the append "hda=scsi hdb=scsi" etc in your lilo.conf

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872
    thanks, if the burnt failed after just a few seconds, can I assume I got a bad CD-RW ? Actually, all I want to know is if I can treat CD-RW just like normal CD-R(other than that it can be burnt repeatedly) or there is additional step needed if I want to reuse CD-RW.

    BTW, can I use CD-RW like a floppy i.e. mount it and write to it ?

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by garyng
    thanks, if the burnt failed after just a few seconds, can I assume I got a bad CD-RW ?
    There could be multiple reasons it fails. Do you suspect the drive of being faulty?

    Actually, all I want to know is if I can treat CD-RW just like normal CD-R(other than that it can be burnt repeatedly)
    Yes for all practical purposes they are essentially the same. Is this drive a real SCSI device or is it IDE?

    or there is additional step needed if I want to reuse CD-RW.
    man cdrecord - line 220 or so gives you the options to 'blank' a cdrw.

    BTW, can I use CD-RW like a floppy i.e. mount it and write to it ?
    Certainly. cdrecord will automatically look for /dev/cdrom. AFAIK this is true of most Linux apps. If you need assistance with fstab, symbolic links, mount points etc. just post a few details, it's not too hard to get straightened out (usually).

    edit

    I almost forgot, line 113 of man cdrecord- you can pass the "dummy" option. Everything runs but the laser if off. Good way to troubleshoot.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872
    You misunderstood me

    I know the blank option and have used it and cdrecord returns no error on my suspicious CD-RW.

    What I want to ask is do I need to blank a CD-RW before I can burn it again.

    As for using it as floppy, I mean can make a file system on it(ext2/fat?) and mount it and use it in commands like cp etc.

    In Window, I can just drag and drop(and delete) whatever I want on it.

    cdrecord to me seems like a once off burning program rather than the tools I want.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Quote Originally Posted by garyng
    You misunderstood me

    I know the blank option and have used it and cdrecord returns no error on my suspicious CD-RW.

    What I want to ask is do I need to blank a CD-RW before I can burn it again.
    Good question, I've never had cdrw though so I couldn't say. I don't think it is required. Be aware that I am frequently incorrect in my assuptions. Did you use software to do this in windows?

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by garyng
    What I want to ask is do I need to blank a CD-RW before I can burn it again.

    As for using it as floppy, I mean can make a file system on it(ext2/fat?) and mount it and use it in commands like cp etc.

    In Window, I can just drag and drop(and delete) whatever I want on it.
    If you are talking about the Knoppix CD, then the answer is "no". The ISO is not in a "package writing" format, which is needed to be able to remove files (a 'package') again.

    You might be able to add files if you didn't "close" or "finalize" the CD, and your PC still boots from it (or you hdinstall'ed Knoppix).

    cdrecord to me seems like a once off burning program rather than the tools I want.
    I'm unsure, I do know that there is/was experimental package writing support directly in the kernel. Don't know how stable it is, nor if it is enabled in Knoppix, neither what program to use for formatting. You could try formatting a CD in Windows and dropping files on it in Linux.

    BTW, K3b is a good linux CD burning GUI.

    Let us know if it worked.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    2
    About using a CD-RW as a floppy:

    This is called "packet writing", not "package writing".
    When I bought a TDK CD-RW, they included a program for Windows called InCD that would format a CD-RW, and then it could be used for dragging and dropping.

    Back around 2001, I saw something about this for Linux on http://www.linuxtoday.com
    I don't remember the name of the software. It could have been just a HOW-TO or something from www.sourceforge.net. The reviewer was trying out the second version, but it still had major bugs.
    I don't think that packet-writing software is available yet for Linux.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Included Modem Driver Not Working
    By Kowood in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-24-2005, 11:46 PM
  2. SATA and SCSI, SCSI not detected
    By geoffleach in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 10:02 PM
  3. DVD Backup Tool included?
    By DaveDread in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2004, 08:14 PM
  4. could please the broadcom driver be included
    By Uwe Brauer in forum Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 11:25 AM
  5. Broadcom NIC module not included
    By jimbo70 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-14-2003, 07:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell Poweredge R630 2x Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4ghz 28-Cores / 128gb / H330 / 2x 1TB picture

Dell Poweredge R630 2x Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4ghz 28-Cores / 128gb / H330 / 2x 1TB

$294.99



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD

$208.99



Dell PowerEdge R420 Dual Intel Xeon E5-2440 v2 @1.90GHz 32GB RAM No HDD H710 picture

Dell PowerEdge R420 Dual Intel Xeon E5-2440 v2 @1.90GHz 32GB RAM No HDD H710

$74.50



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v2 2.2GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 1x 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server 2x E5-2660 v2 2.2GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 1x 480GB SSD

$139.99



Dell PowerEdge R620 Server - 256GB RAM, 2x8cCPU, 120Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox picture

Dell PowerEdge R620 Server - 256GB RAM, 2x8cCPU, 120Gb SSD/3x900Gb SAS, Proxmox

$320.00



R630 DELL 8 x 2.5'' POWEREDGE 2X E5-2680V4 32GB RAM IDRAC ENT & NDC 2X 495W PSU picture

R630 DELL 8 x 2.5'' POWEREDGE 2X E5-2680V4 32GB RAM IDRAC ENT & NDC 2X 495W PSU

$172.95



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD

$239.99



DELL PowerEdge R730 16SFF Server 2x E5-2690v4 =28 Cores No RAM/ HDD H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 16SFF Server 2x E5-2690v4 =28 Cores No RAM/ HDD H730 4xRJ45

$232.97



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2640v4 2.4GHz =20 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2640v4 2.4GHz =20 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$259.00



Dell PowerEdge R430 3.5 1U 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 24-Cores 256gb 4x Trays 2x 550w picture

Dell PowerEdge R430 3.5 1U 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 24-Cores 256gb 4x Trays 2x 550w

$359.99