Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Sound system configuration is flaky

  1. #1
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528

    Question Sound system configuration is flaky

    I use the Preferences-System Settings-Multimedia mechanism to control which "sound card" to use, but it will simply fail to work with my headset occasionally. If I use the "Test" feature when the device is clicked as shown in the attachment, I get the test sound in the headphones. But it just now won't give me the sound from a YouTube video. What gives???

    Krishna
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by krishna.murphy; 04-07-2010 at 12:57 PM. Reason: Ooops! Forgot to add attachment

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512

    PulseAudio

    I have two sound cards, too. One is integrated in the mainboard and the other one is a USB device with an amplifier for my record player. With PulseAudio I am able to switch over to a different sound device for output.
    I did the following in order to install PulseAudio.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get -t testing install pulseaudio paman pavucontrol paprefs
    Afterwards I created a file /etc/asound.conf with the following configuration as described on the page http://pulseaudio.org/wiki/PerfectSetup:
    Code:
    pcm.pulse {
        type pulse
    }
    ctl.pulse {
        type pulse
    }
    pcm.!default {
        type pulse
    }
    ctl.!default {
        type pulse
    }
    I rebooted the system. In the menu "Sound & Video" I found the "PulseAudio Volume Control" which I use to select the output device.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    512

    .asoundrc

    I found a simpler way to change the sound output device than using PulseAudio.
    Code:
    cat /proc/asound/cards
    shows the sound cards installed in the system. In my case the sound card I want to use has the number 1. I create a configuration file /home/knoppix/.asoundrc with the two lines
    Code:
    defaults.ctl.card 1
    defaults.pcm.card 1
    I can adjust the volume with the program alsamixer (or aumix). After restarting the Xserver the volume control in the LXPanel works with the new sound card. If the the web browser is running using the flash plugin while I change the settings for the default sound card then I have to restart the web browser in order that the flash plugin uses the new sound card for playback.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Here a few more ideas for you, Krishna:

    I use the following /etc/rc.local to 'max-out' audio volume on my laptop:
    added sudo amixer sset 'Master' 64;
    sudo amixer sset 'Speaker' 64; and
    sudo amixer sset 'PCI' 255.

    Audio settings can be viewed and/or changed in an LXTerminal with 'alsamixer'.
    (I don't know if driving alsamixer values 'into the red' is harmful;
    I keep the apparent volume about the same as in Win7 usage.)
    Last edited by utu; 07-26-2010 at 06:31 PM.

  5. #5
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    Thanks! I hope this will help others, too.

    Cheers!
    Krishna

  6. #6
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by utu View Post
    Here a few more ideas for you, Krishna:

    I use the following /etc/rc.local to 'max-out' audio volume on my laptop:
    added sudo amixer sset 'Master' 64;
    sudo amixer sset 'Speaker' 64; and
    sudo amixer sset 'PCI' 255.

    Audio settings can be viewed and/or changed in an LXTerminal with 'alsamixer'.
    (I don't know if driving alsamixer values 'into the red' is harmful;
    I keep the apparent volume about the same as in Win7 usage.)
    I checked my settings as follows:
    Code:
     cat /proc/asound/cards
     0 [V8237          ]: VIA8237 - VIA 8237
                          VIA 8237 with CMI9761A+ at 0xe400, irq 22
     1 [Headset        ]: USB-Audio - Logitech USB Headset
                          Logitech Logitech USB Headset at usb-0000:00:10.2-1, full speed
    knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ amixer
    Simple mixer control 'Master',0
      Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Limits: Playback 0 - 31
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback 23 [74%] [-12.00dB] [on]
      Front Right: Playback 23 [74%] [-12.00dB] [on]
    Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
      Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
      Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
      Limits: Playback 0 - 31
      Mono:
      Front Left: Playback 23 [74%] [-12.00dB] [on]
      Front Right: Playback 23 [74%] [-12.00dB] [on]
    --------snip--------
    I'm wondering how wise or unwise exceeding a value of 31 would be, given what I see here. I have different hardware now than I did before, with an external amp to boost things, but I'm still interested. Thanks again, and

    Cheers!
    Krishna

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    Krishna,

    Note: I max out my speakers, but not headphones.
    Speaker output on my laptop is too weak otherwise,
    and if it seems louder than I use with Win7, I
    just turn it down with panel VC. Seems safe enough.

    Having maxed my PCM, I can't say for sure I have
    not hurt the headphone channels. But I don't
    have any headphones, and probably won't use that
    capability anyway.

    I'm really fond of the nice gui that alsamixer
    shows on an LXTerminal.

  8. #8

    .asoundrc

    thanks to Klaus2008s file .asoundrc I now have USB 1.1 headphone audio in Knoppix 6.4.4 Main goal accomplished. The Penguin REALLY rocks now that Ive learned how to make a proper flash drive install! BUT.... the volume control applet has vanished from the task bar, although it still appears in the applet list. Adding another volume control didnt accomplish anything except having two that dont appear. "Aumix" does nothing to adjust the USB HS volume, nor does "Mute all" have any effect. The HS volume control does not work. I hear Todd Rundgren in Stereo but I cant "crank it up" Starting Alsamixer in Terminal allows me to change the volume, "in the red" works at 2 dB! I can croon along with Chicago and not hear how horrible I sound. HS volume control still doesnt work. Unfortunately the arrow keys follow focus so the mixer cant be adjusted when not focused on Terminal. Q. How to get volume control on the Taskbar a/o a control in Aumix??

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    Posts
    1,631
    So, what happens when you enter
    alsamixer
    into an lxterminal?

  10. #10
    Alsamixer 1.0.23 - it works. can change HS volume, but its klunky, I Alt-Tab - Arrow it to change volume when the mixer is in the background. There is an F6 invoked "select sound card" menu item in Alsamixer which appears to change the card used, maybe thats an alternative to writing the .asourc file? ill try it tomorrow.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


WD 500GB My Passport SSD, Portable External Solid State Drive WDBAGF5000ARD-WESN picture

WD 500GB My Passport SSD, Portable External Solid State Drive WDBAGF5000ARD-WESN

$59.99



N85XX DELL 3.84TB SAS 12GB/S ENTERPRISE SOLID STATE DRIVE (W/ 14TH GEN CADDY) picture

N85XX DELL 3.84TB SAS 12GB/S ENTERPRISE SOLID STATE DRIVE (W/ 14TH GEN CADDY)

$389.95



ACASIS 2.5/3.5 inch 2 Bay SATA USB 3.0 Hard Drive Disk HDD SSD Enclosure 4 RAID picture

ACASIS 2.5/3.5 inch 2 Bay SATA USB 3.0 Hard Drive Disk HDD SSD Enclosure 4 RAID

$58.99



SanDisk 2TB Ultra 3D NAND SSD, Internal Solid State Drive - SDSSDH3-2T00-G26 picture

SanDisk 2TB Ultra 3D NAND SSD, Internal Solid State Drive - SDSSDH3-2T00-G26

$149.99



Patriot P210 128GB 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 2.5

Patriot P210 128GB 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 2.5" SATA 3 6GB/s Internal SSD PC/MAC Lot

$19.99



1x 480GB SATA SSD Generic Intel 2.5

1x 480GB SATA SSD Generic Intel 2.5" Enterprise SSD Drive 6Gbps

$20.00



Netac 1TB 2TB 512GB Internal SSD 2.5'' SATA III 6Gb/s Solid State Drive lot picture

Netac 1TB 2TB 512GB Internal SSD 2.5'' SATA III 6Gb/s Solid State Drive lot

$13.99



Intel DC S3510 Series 120GB SSD 2.5

Intel DC S3510 Series 120GB SSD 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA Solid State Drive SSDSC2BB120G6K

$9.89



Fanxiang SSD 512GB 1TB 2TB 4TB 2.5''SATA III Internal Solid State Hard Drive LOT picture

Fanxiang SSD 512GB 1TB 2TB 4TB 2.5''SATA III Internal Solid State Hard Drive LOT

$188.99



Fanxiang M.2 SATA SSD 2TB 1TB 512GB 256GB SSD Internal M2 Solid State Drive Lot picture

Fanxiang M.2 SATA SSD 2TB 1TB 512GB 256GB SSD Internal M2 Solid State Drive Lot

$109.99